Who are you? Who will you be?

Source: http://dtc-wsuv.org/wp/dtc375-scodi/katherine-hayles/
Source: http://dtc-wsuv.org/wp/dtc375-scodi/katherine-hayles/

Before attending my first digital media class, the words “digital media” were never something I thought too hard about.  Now having attended my first digital media lecture and reflecting on my experience using digital media, this class has made begin to think… I find myself thinking of how prominent digital media really is in my life and the lives of so many.  As time has progressed over the years and technologies have advanced, we’ve become so dependant on digital media devices like; phones, computers, televisions, etc. that in turn, these gadgets have ended up shaping our lives in so many ways.  For example, as a society, digital media has played a huge role in influencing our appearances, our behaviour and even how we may view the world. All in all, I think it’s absolutely remarkable how digital media has very much so influenced and impacted how we think, how we feel, and what we do and don’t do… although, often times, this is something we even fail to realize.

Source: http://mashable.com/2013/03/02/digital-media-resources-73-2/#Z1BfcA1vuPkj
Credit: http://mashable.com/2013/03/02/digital-media-resources-73-2/#Z1BfcA1vuPkj

This year, being my first year in RTA, I do think that it is important for those wishing to enter the “Radio and Television Arts” that they take a course like digital media because it is such a big component in all things radio, television and media as a whole. It’s extremely important for anyone entering the media industry to not only understand and be able to recognize the impact digital media has on society, but to also understand what goes into creating that digital media in order to make that impact.  It’s courses like this that make me excited and thankful to be a part of the RTA family… Having spent so many years wondering how things work, I look forward to not only finding out, but using what I learn to create various influential projects of my own.

Credit: http://ryersonrta.fcad.ryerson.ca/facilities-equipment/rta-transmedia-zone
Credit: http://ryersonrta.fcad.ryerson.ca/facilities-equipment/rta-transmedia-zone

Although, in all honesty, I am a bit nervous about stepping into RTA and being enrolled in a course like digital media.  Even though I am someone who has always had the passion possessed by those in RTA, I do find I am lacking in experience.  This is very worrisome as I anticipate this will be a big disadvantage to me, especially in something like digital media which appears very complex.  It is the complexity of digital media software, something I have never really used, that scares me into thinking using digital media programs will be difficult for a first timer like myself to grasp.  However, knowing that RTA has some of the best media professors in the world, I know I’ll be learning from the best, and so, I am prepared to overcome my worries and to drive myself to a successful future.  Hopefully, by the end of this course, the components of digital media will no longer be a foreign concept to me, but a concept that is all too familiar.

Leave a Reply

